Loading...
FAQs2020-01-27T19:47:38-05:00
What is an ASHI Certified Home Inspection?2020-02-17T15:47:21-05:00

A home inspection is a visual examination of the  physical structure and systems of a home done by an ASHI Certified Inspector. Our emphasis is on identifying existing or potential adverse conditions that would affect a purchasers buying decision. We also provide recommendations for a course of action to remedy those conditions.  ASHI members have the knowledge, experience, training along with nationally recognized standards and a strong code of ethics.

Why do I need a home inspection?2020-02-17T15:48:25-05:00

The purchase of a home is probably the largest single investment you will ever make. You should know exactly what to expect – both indoors and out – in terms of repair and maintenance and their costs. A fresh coat of paint could be hiding serious structural problems. Water marks in the basement may indicate a chronic seepage problem or may be simply the result of a single incident. The home inspector interprets these and other clues, then presents his professional opinion as to the condition of the property before you buy, so you can avoid unpleasant surprises afterwards.

Of course, a home inspection will also point out the positive aspects of a home, as well as the type of maintenance that will be necessary to keep it in good shape. After the inspection, you will have a much clearer understanding of what it is you are about to purchase, and you will be able to make your decision confidently.

What does a home inspection include?2020-02-13T20:23:04-05:00

A complete home inspection includes a thorough examination of the house from top to bottom. We meet or exceed the ASHI Standards of practice. The following is a list of items inspected:

  • Roof Covering
    • We walk roofs to inspect them whenever possible
    • Gutters and Roof Drainage
    • Flashing
    • Roof Penetrations
    • Chimney Crowns, Walls and Flashing
  • Exterior
    • Drainage and grading that may affect the building
    • Vegetation that may affect the building
    • Wall coverings/siding
    • Doors
    • Windows
    • Decks/Balconies
    • Stoops/Steps
    • Porches
    • Retaining Walls
    • Walkways
    • Patios
    • Driveways
    • Visible Foundation Walls
    • Exterior Faucets
    • Vent Terminals and Air Intakes
  • Basement/Foundation/Structure
    • Foundation Walls
    • Basement Floor
    • Crawl Spaces
    • Sump Pump System
    • Floor Structure
    • Basement Insulation
    • Signs of Moisture in the Basement
  • Electrical
    • Exterior Electrical Components
      • Main Service Drop
      • Cables and Raceways
      • Main Panel and Sub Panels
      • We remove panel covers to inspect the wiring inside
      • Service Grounding
    • Interior Electrical Components
      • Switches
      • Outlets
      • Ground Fault Circuit Interrupters
  • Plumbing
    • Drain Waste and Vent Pipes
    • Water Distribution Pipes
    • Visible Portion of the Water Main Where it Enters the House
    • Water Heaters
    • Water Heater Venting
    • Floor Drains
    • Sinks
    • Toilets
    • Tubs
    • Showers
    • Gas Lines
  • Heating/Cooling
    • Installed Heating Equipment Such as Furnaces and Boilers
    • Carbon Monoxide Testing of Heating Plants is Standard for Us
    • Furnace Filters
    • Ductwork
    • Venting
    • Heat Recovery and Energy Recovery Ventilators
    • Centreal and Permanently Install Coming Equipment is Tested When Exterior Temperatures Permit
  • Interior
    • Ceilings and Walls
    • Floors
    • Doors and Windows
    • Skylights
    • Stairs Handrails and Guards
    • Counters and Cabinets
    • Vent Fans
  • Attic
    • We Acmes Every Attic if Possible
    • Framing and Sheathing
    • Exhaust Fans and Ducts
    • Insulation
    • Ventilation
  • Garage
    • Overhead doors
    • Garage Door Openers
    • Doors, Walls, Floors etc.
What will it cost?2020-02-13T20:23:51-05:00

The inspection fee for a typical one-family house averages between $395 and $450. For larger homes, antiques, or homes with special structures, the fee may be higher. Fees for other offered services, radon testing, IR Thermography and moisture investigation vary, call for quotes. You may find our fees higher than many inspectors. Our 34 years experience in the inspection business gives us the knowledge of what to look for. We find conditions that others may overlook or minimize. We put our findings in perspective. We do not sensationalize our findings. Inspection fees are a very small part of your home purchase expense and pay for a service dedicated exclusively for your benefit. Skimping on an inspection can lead to big disappointments.

Do I need to be there during the inspection?2020-02-13T20:24:51-05:00

No, you are not required to be there for the inspection, but we recommend that you attend. It can be a valuable learning experience for most people and will help you get the most benefit from the inspection. You can ask questions and see how the systems of the home operate. We feel you will be able to best understand the finished report if you review the findings with the inspector while at the house.

How long will the Inspection take?2020-01-21T16:07:54-05:00

The time will vary depending on both the size and condition of the house.  For most homes 2-3 hours is typical. Larger homes, or homes in poor condition may take longer. We will always take the time necessary to do a thorough inspection.

Why can’t I do the Inspection myself?2020-01-21T16:08:20-05:00

Chances are that even if you are very familiar with home construction, you still don’t  have the knowledge, experience and training of an ASHI Certified Inspector. We have inspected thousands of homes. We are familiar with all of the systems of a home, how they work and need to be maintained. We also know what to look for to tell us they are getting ready to fail. It is important to remember that the inspector remains an impartial third party. If you are involved in buying or selling a house, it is impossible to remain unemotional about the house which may cloud your judgement. We will provide an objective third party report of the buildings condition.

When do I call in the home inspector?2020-01-21T16:08:37-05:00

The best time to call in the home inspector is after you’ve made an offer on the house, and before you sign the contract. Or you can have your lawyer include an inspection clause in the contract, making your purchase obligation contingent upon the findings of a professional home inspection.

What if the report reveals problems?2020-01-21T16:08:55-05:00

If the inspector finds fault in a home it doesn’t necessarily mean you shouldn’t buy it, only that you will know in advance what type of repairs to anticipate. A seller may be willing to renegotiate the purchase price because of significant problems discovered in an inspection. If your budget is very tight, or if you don’t wish to become involved in future repair work, you may decide that this is not the house for you. The choice is yours.

If the report is good, did I really need an inspection?2020-01-21T16:09:16-05:00

Definitely. Now you can complete your home purchase with peace of mind about the condition of the property and all its equipment and systems. You may also have learned a few things about your new home from the inspector’s report, and you will want to keep that information for future reference. Above all, you can feel assured that you are making a well-informed purchase decision and that you will be able to enjoy your new home the way you want to.